Help with electrics

Hallo all! It's been a while since I've lurked here, and I've come crawling back because I need off topic help. Hopefully some of you can shed some light on some (apparently) electrical-related things.

I'm in the process of buying a house. I suspect parts or even all of it will need a rewire. The sockets and plates I've come across fall into four categories:

1. Round-prong, probably disconnected

2. Square-prong, old but probably working

3. Modern, likely 80s or 90s; and

4. WTF is that?!

Here are the 2 WTF things I need help identifying. The strange thing on the wall above a fireplace, and the one on the far left of the image showing 3 separate points. All help gratefully recieved.

post-4105-0-60772100-1348351090_thumb.jp

I was an electrician 1968-1975.

The location of the first gives it away as an electric clock point.

Cant make out te seconds size. Could be a round 15 amp socket or a 2amp lighting socket if smaller.

Thank you! You have no idea how difficult it is to find this stuff out if you don't know what to call the things in the first place. Can't work out if wiring was more or less complicated back then, what with multiple points and changing prong shapes...

Old outlet that one on the skirting board....Best advice I can give as an old retired electrician, is hire a qualified electrician to do a thorough examination of the house electrics, and give you a report.

Chances are, last time the place was wired was well over 30 years back...

What area is the house?

Even your survey that you pay for will not examine your wiring in detail.

They will recommend you consult a qualified electrician. Your solicitor will ask for an electrical safety certificate.

It could be that you have more recent wiring and some old points have been left to avoid redecorating.

However you should use this to your advantage re price :)

Look at the fuseboard.

Is it old rewirable fuses?

It needs RCD's. (circuit breakers)