inmates list for rampton hospital 1912-1917?

Hi Marlene

im not an expert in this but i will help if i can. How did this person end up encarcerted in Rampton Hospital, do you know which court sent him there and what was thier surname

Paul

According to the Hospitals Database website records for patients are at Nottingham Archives, and some at Berkshire Archives (these may be for people who moved from Rampton to Broadmoor - not sure). You may have a probelm with gaining access as it's not quite 100 years, but worth a go!

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/hospitalrecords/search.asp

• Upvote 1

ann dose this go for mapperly hostpital too

thanks babs.

Babs

The website I posted above says Nottm Archives has patients records for Mapperley Hospital for 1880-1959. I had a Great Aunt who died there in the 60's and I remember Nottm Archives telling me they didn't have anything - obviously just missed out, going by those dates.

thanks ann therecords i want are posible30s /40 not sure my dads sistercommited suicidewhile in thereand id like to see if i can find out a few more details for my family history as you get so many different storiesfrom different people down the years but as i am not sure of her first name hard to follow up in the ordanary way so thought if i get a look athostpital records it would not only giveme how she died but her first name too so next time i go down to the archives i will ask if i can acsses them as its not 100 years

no mick how do you do thatare they in the archives the same or is there somewere else you need to go to find them

Babs

If you can prove you are a close relative and the Coroner has a file on that death, they may release details to you.

You would need to write to them, not phone or visit.

Be prepared to produce documents.

Also the Coroner at that time may have been a County Coroner.