Falcon Inn, Alfreton Road, Canning Circus

Hi Im new to this, my first post..!

Im trying to find out some info about the history of the Falcon Inn. All I know is that it was supposedly built around 1860. Any info or knowledge of previous landlords/ladies. Ive found a couple of old photos but nothing else. The Falcon Inn will be re opening at the end of the year.....

• Upvote 1

At a guess I'd say that you are the 'mine host' ?

Only ever went in there a couple of times in the 80s so can't help you really. Anyway, welcome onboard, and don't forget to add your own memories.

Welcome to Nottstalgia, arnold. I look forward to reading your posts and sharing your memories. I saw this review from 2009 and thought it may help you.

At the top of Canning Circus across from the Borlase Warren - The Falcon is a unique little gastro pub. Downstairs its like a step back into an old town pub complete with resident locals, nice pub furnishings, a big screen and a good crowd to watch the rugby with. Upstairs there’s a quaint silver service reataurant serving lovely food that even comes in man-size portions. You can also, if you’re not in the mood for posh, order the same food dowstairs where you can tuck into a mountain of food in their cosy, snug bar. Prices are good too and the quality A rated for a small city pub.

Hello Arnold & welcome to this forum.

I have been through my directories & I have found the following re the Falcon Inn Alfreton Road/Canning Circus

Landlords/ladies.

1868 Thomas Hickling

1916 George Parr

1925 Mrs Julia Godward

1928 Frederick Marshall

1932 Reg Coates

1941 Jack l Turner

I have a directory dated 1860 but although there are public houses listed on Alfreton Road non are mentioned by name

"If" the Falcon existed in 1860 it was almost certainly a "Beerhouse"

Hope tis information is of use.

• Upvote 1