Would you pass your driving test today ?

My daughter is now taking driving lessons and i wanted to help her on the theory test that you have to take now. There's a website here where you can practise the theory:

http://www.dsa.gov.uk/mockpaper/theoryintro.htm#

Now I've been driving for 23 years now and when I took mine, there was no theory test so I thought I'd have a go and duly failed miserably!!!!

You need to get 30/35 to pass... I got 24 on my first go... Should I give up driving ?

• 10 years later...

There is no substitute for experience.

When someone passes the test they have only reached the minimum standard. Trouble nowadays is that driving instructor's only teach to pass the test, NOT to learn how to drive.

Big difference.

Why do driving instructors these days teach their pupils to put on their indicator light well after their brake lights come on,usually about 5 yrds from the junction

very difficult for colour blind people like me who find it difficult to see an indicator light when the brake light is lit,but if the indicator light comes on first at least I'm in with a fighting chance of guessing their intention

Rog

Driving in Italy is to say the least,   unpredictable. Traffic light sequence is different so if you are day dreaming waiting for the light to turn Green, you hear cars tooting behind you you. Traffic islands are a novelty at least in the smaller towns and villages and no one seems to know how to use them. Navigating an island this afternoon I had to be quick to avoid a collision with a lorry, this is a frequent happening. You certainly have to have your wits about you. There are certain m/ ways that I'm terrified of, especially around Turin never mind Milan and Palermo......daren't even think about it. Years ago a cousin took us around in a 500 and there were 7 of us in the car. Still can't believe we weren't stopped. But as the the saying goes......In Palermo theres traffffico.

• Upvote 2