Driving Through France

I've driven a bit around Brittany. Mostly it was a delight as their roads are well maintained and pretty empty c.f. ours. I even managed reasonably well in a couple of the larger towns. I did find that they had a rather of odd way of angling their direction signs which to a habitual UK driver could be a bit ambiguous, but no biggie.

So. I have access to a very nice apartment in one of the poshest streets in Nice... For the moment I assume that 'Le Parking' is available.

We could fly there in a couple of hours from Liverpool via Sleazyjet.

Or, we could drive there...hopefully avoiding the major 'Autoroutes' ( N6/N7? .. I havent even looked at a map yet..) and getting a feel for the changing landscape as we run south.

I have no experience of this at all apart from the car ferry Plymouth- Roscoff almost 30 years ago, and hitch hiking to Paris in 1967.... man.. :cool::cool:

So.. a few questions which I'm sure our very cosmopolitan readership.. ( Lizzie.. Nonna B) can help with.

1. What would be your choice for crossing over/under the channel and why?
2. Would you pre-book overnight stops..in France or is it reasonable to suppose that overnight accommodation is easy to find on an Ad Hoc ..'just turn up' basis? I've heard of 'Formula One' hotels but know little about them. Any other suggestions? A bed/bathroom and possibly breakfast are all that's required. Nothing fancy.
3. Is AA operative .. maybe by proxy.. in France should we need it?

Were I doing this alone.. I'd just pretty much get on with it... With Mrs Col in tow it needs to be a teensy bit more organised...  girlvboy

Views?

I am following this thread as I am planning something similar August/September. But I know I shall be driving a 56 year old car, ferry from Dover - Calais and I shall be staying at Cambrai, Northern France (Pas-de-Calais). Help will be appreciated on anything else.